Pre-production Location scouting 1 + 2 + 3

10155015_267462086765420_5953281048482795387_n

After writing the script I spoke to Rob and Rob my cinematographers / DOPs, I asked them if they knew anywhere that was quite scenic and had a large body of water that someone could submerge themselves in. They recommended a place called Burrator reservoir. I checked it out on Google maps and it looked perfect.

burator

 

We took a trip up to take some photos and I was really please with what was up there. As we were going round I spoke to the both Robs about possible camera angles and the lighting we would need. On the second trip we took Sam came a long to get some wild tracks and assess what it would be like to record sound. Really wanted to be as prepared as possible. Bellow are a few pictures I took of locations to use in the film.

IMG_0332

IMG_8685

 

https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B0MTqx8ZHyUOV0RhUkhJU1Nia00&usp=sharing  If you click the link you should be able to view all the photos. When we went the second time I wanted to test if I could re enact the drowning scene, where the android and his reflection get drowned. So I had to stick my head in the water, this was also good for trying to convince the actor to do the same thing, I thought that if I had done it, the actor wouldn’t mind doing it.

looking for treasure

 

on our third visit to the reservoir we had to test out Robs fish tank idea for the last shot. One of the most important shots of the film but he pulled it off pretty well.

IMG_8664

 

I wanted us to be as prepared as possible, and with everyone chipping in to do their part we certainly were. This meant when it came to the shoot days everything went smooth… well… almost….

Leave a comment