R.E.D – A Cold And Industrial influence

nostromo

One massive inspiration for the design of my ship is the nostromo from Ridley Scott’s ‘Alien’. The way the nostromo looks is very industrial and powerful, the way the pipes run throughout the ship and everything is exposed gives it a certain character that I loved.

 

Alien Alien_spacebeast-alien-crewsship-inside BRIDGE-06

 

I love the paneling, the grates and the pipes in the design and want to take these elements and incorporate them into my own ship design. The nostromo also has some awesome control panels like the one bellow:

I wish to hopefully design something like this myself for my own ship, something with lots of buttons and screens.

So what can I take away from this film? I can take away the dark ambient influence the ship has over the film, almost as if it feels alive. I can use the pipes and grates in different creative ways, much like in this. I just need to experiment.

Leave a comment